Create Account | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
AIASF Launches New Community Alliance Awards
Share |
Helen Wong, AIASF Director of Communications
PH: +1 415 874 2627


New Community Alliance Awards to Acknowledge Individuals for Contributions to the Built Environment


(SAN FRANCISCO, CA) August 25, 2015 | AIA San Francisco announces the expansion of its distinguished Design Awards program with the introduction of Community Alliance Awards. The companion program honors the individuals, firms, and organizations whose overall work, leadership, and dedication shape the character and vibrancy of our communities, and the future of our built environment.

“Countless individuals across a multitude of disciplines help to influence the structures that define the city in which we live by the work that they do every day and we are excited to take this opportunity to honor their achievements and contributions,” states AIASF Executive Director Jennifer Jones, CAE.

Ten award categories aim to acknowledge individuals and organizations for their contributions to the community and the enrichment of the quality of life in the Bay Area through their commitment to design excellence. Their continued efforts to engage, educate, collaborate, and advocate elevates the value of design and its impact on the experiences of our daily lives.

Nominations will be reviewed by a jury consisting of prominent members of the community including Julie Christensen of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, Tim Culvahouse, FAIA of CulvaHOUSE, John King of the San Francisco Chronicle, and Adrianne Steichen, AIA of Pyatok Architecture + Urban Design. Award recipients will be honored at a banquet in early December at the California College of the Arts Perry Family Event Center.

Award categories include: Alliance Award, Emerging Professional Award, Education Award, Mentor Award, Student Award, Firm Achievement Award, Social Impact Award, Local Government Award, Chapter Service Award, and Revitalization Award. Full descriptions of each award category are available online at

Submissions will be accepted through September 16, 2015. Visit for complete information and to submit your nominations.