Create Account | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
AIASF Announces the Honorees of the 2016 Design Awards Program
Share |

(SAN FRANCISCO, CA) April 21, 2016 | The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIASF) is pleased to announce the honorees of the 2016 AIA San Francisco Design Awards program. The winners were revealed and celebrated at the newly renovated Herbst Theater, San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center with Master of Ceremonies Jennifer Dunlop Fletcher of SFMOMA and members of the design community.

“Each year the AIASF Design Awards celebrates the best of Bay Area architects, and this year’s Austin-based jury had the unenviable challenge to winnow over 150 entries to our group of 2016 honorees,” AIASF Executive Director Jennifer Jones, CAE, IOM, describes of the process. “Every award-winning project offers unique and distinctive design solutions to enhance the architectural experience and further demonstrates the diversity of creative and innovative projects from our talented industry."

Winners were recognized for their exceptional contributions to the built environment integrating the overall practice of sustainable design principles in all categories with the support of PG&E’s Pacific Energy Center. Special commendations were also awarded in the areas of Historic Preservation, Urban Design, Social Responsibility and Sustainability.

“AIASF has so many talented design firms that, each year, the jury has their work cut out for them, and this year was no exception,” says AIASF 2016 President Aaron Jon Hyland, AIA. “Our warmest congratulations to all honorees, and thank you to everyone who submitted and made this year’s awards program another success.”

Winning projects are featured online at, included in a print publication available at the AIASF office, and will be showcased in an upcoming exhibition on view at the AIA San Francisco gallery (130 Sutter Street, Suite 600).

For complete information about this year’s Design Awards program, visit If you would like to receive images of this year’s honored projects, please email us at