Create Account | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Announcing 2015 AIASF Design Awards Winners
Share |

Helen Wong, AIASF Director of Communications
PH: +1 415 874 2620


Announcing 2015 AIASF Design Awards Winners

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (May 1, 2015) - The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIASF) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 AIA San Francisco Design Awards program. The winners were revealed and celebrated at The Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption in San Francisco Wednesday night.

“AIASF received over 200 submissions, featuring a wide spectrum of projects from across the globe,” AIASF Executive Director Jennifer Jones, CAE, commented. “Each project is uniquely intriguing and inspiring; it is an honor for our chapter to recognize and celebrate the creative and innovative work of our talented local design community.” Winners were recognized for their exceptional contributions to the built environment integrating the overall practice of sustainable design principles in the categories of Architecture, Interior Architecture and Unbuilt Design. Special achievement commendations were also awarded in the areas of Historic Preservation, Urban Design and Social Responsibility.

"We applaud our architects, designers and their collaborative teams for their commitment to the local built environment and look forward to continuing to highlight the value of architecture, great design, placemaking and sustainability through these outstanding projects," remarks Irving A. Gonzales, AIASF 2015 President.

Winning projects are featured online at, included in a print publication available at the AIASF office, and will be showcased in an upcoming exhibition on view at the AIA San Francisco gallery (130 Sutter Street, Suite 600). 

Honor awards were given to Mark Cavagnero Associates for Palega Recreation Center and WRNS Studio for Boeddeker Park.

Merit awards were given to EHDD for Lands End Lookout Visitor Center, EHDD for University of California, Sata Cruz Biomedical Sciences Facility, EHDD for the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, and HOK/Ferraro Choi and Associates for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Inouye Regional Center, Kwan Henmi Architecture/Planning for Marlow, Jensen Architects for Shed Store & Cafe, Ogyrdziak Prillinger Architects for Hyde, Studio VARA for Redwood Highway, and Terry & Terry Architecture for Bal House.

Citation awards were given to Aidlin Darlin Design for Windhover Contemplative Center, Aidlin Darling Design for Mill Valley Courtyard Residence, Leddy Maytum Stacy and Architects/Saida + Sullivan Design Partners for Rene Cazenave Apartments, Montalba Architects, Inc. for Studio Dental, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP for San Bernardino Justice Center.

A sustainability commendation award was given to EHDD for the Exploratorium at Pier 15.

Interior Architecture

An honor award was given to Gensler for Muh-Tay-Zik-Hof-Fer.

Merit awards were given to Feldman Architecture for Presidio VC Offices, jones | haydu for Coffee Bar Kearny, and Gensler for 888 Brannan.

A citation award was given to Min | Day for Bucktown Residence. Unbuilt

A citation award was given to Ogrydziak Prillinger Architects for Shapeshifter.

Social Responsibility
Special commendation awards were given to Anderson Anderson Architecture for Energy Positive Portable Classroom for the State of Hawaii and HKIT Architects for St. Anthony's Dining Room/Vera Haile Senior Community.

Historic Preservation
Special commendation awards were given to HKS Architects for 50 United Nations Plaza and Perkins + Will/Page & Turnbull for 140 New Montgomery.

Urban Design
Special commendation awards were given to Interstice Architects for Sunset Parklet and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP for Beijing Tianqiao Performing Arts District Master Plan.


Mimi I. Chen, AIA
Three Legged Pig Design

Laura Crescimano

Rick Diamond, PhD
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Benjamin Grant

Daniel Sundlin
BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group

Christopher Wasney, AIA
Cody Anderson Wasney Architects, Inc.