American Institute of Architects, San Francisco Chapter

Lecture by Kas Oosterhuis

California College of the Arts
1111 Eighth Street
San Francisco, CA
View on Google Maps
415.703.9562 or
Next Steps
Learn More


Professor Kas Oosterhuis studied architecture at the Delft Technical University. In 1987-88 he taught as Unit Master at the AA in London and worked/lived one year in the former studio of Theo van Doesburg in Paris together with the visual artist Ilona Lénárd. Their design studio was in 2004 renamed into ONL (Oosterhuis_Lénárd).

Since 2007 Oosterhuis has been a registered architect in Hungary, executing as General Designer the CET project. Since 2000 he has been a professor of digital design methods at Delft Technical University and is currently leading a staff of 12 researchers at Hyperbody, the knowledge center for Nonstandard and Interactive Architecture at TU Delft. Oosterhuis is director of the protoSPACE Laboratory and a member of the Dutch Building Information Council (BIR).

In his most recent book, Towards a New Kind of Building: A Designer’s Guide to Non Standard Architecture (NAi Publishers 2011), Oosterhuis reveals the fundaments of his personal design universe, which embraces as an initial condition the paradigm shift from standard to nonstandard structures and from static to dynamic buildings. He was a cofounder of the Attila Foundation, responsible for the groundbreaking Sculpture City event in 1994 and the ParaSite weblounge in 1996.

He has lectured worldwide at numerous universities, academies, and international conferences since 1990. He initiated two GSM conferences at TU in Delft on the subjects of multiplayer game design, file to factory design and build methods, and open-source communication in the evolutionary development of the 3D reference model.

In 2008 ONL received the Autodesk BIM Experience Award for the CET Project in Budapest. Further award-winning building designs include the Saltwater Pavilion at Neeltje Jans (Gold Award 1997 for innovative recreational projects, nomination Mies van der Rohe Award 1998), the Garbagetransferstation Elhorst/Vloedbelt in Zenderen (BusinessWeek / Architectural Record Award 1998, OCE-BNA Award for Industrial Architecture 1996, Aluminium Design Award 1997), and the Hessing Cockpit in Acoustic Barrier in Utrecht (National Steel Award 2006, Glass Award 2006, Dutch Design Award for Public Space 2006, nomination Mies van der Rohe Award 2008, nomination Golden Pyramid 2006).

The 2012-13 Architecture Lecture Series is funded by Grants for the Arts / San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP; Jensen Architects; John Marx / Form4 Architecture; Perkins+Will; Pfau Long Architecture Ltd.; STUDIOS Architecture; WSP Flack+Kurtz; ARCH Art Supply; BraytonHughes Design Studios; GCI; Long & Levit LLP; SFMOMA A+D Forum; Tom Eliot Fisch; Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture; Blasen Landscape Architecture; John A. Raeber, Architectural Specifications; and Ratcliff.